Growing Up

2 Corinthians 9:8 – And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that having all sufficiency in all things at all times, you may abound in every good work.

I was working at a homeless shelter this morning doing dishes for a few hours. I had read 2 Corinthians 7-9 earlier this morning for quiet time and this verse stuck out to me. I need God’s grace to abound in me for every good work. I need to be dependent on Him for every single good work. So today I was drying dishes and asking God to fill me with His grace to dry dishes with a smile. And then He reminded me of something I said.

“Don’t cry so much over me; I’m going to grow up now”

These were some of the last words I said before leaving for Hawaii. They made me thankful today. I was thankful because I was washing dishes and I was growing up. I’m writing this in an atmosphere of growth. Every day I grow closer to God and learn more about Him here. I also saw a contrast between me and the people I was washing dishes for. I was washing dishes for homeless people who probably don’t know Jesus. They haven’t been born again yet. They need Jesus in their lives. God was blessing me twofold in this. First, I was growing up. I was practically learning to walk in the grace of God for my good works. Not to try and just do it with a smile because I knew it was right, but do it with a smile because God was with me and His grace was upon me. Second, I was blessing those who are yet to be born again. God allowed me this morning to take part in ministering to the lost. In view of these two things, it was easy to work with a smile on. I knew God was working in and through me even while doing something as trivial as washing dishes.

God has blessed me immensely to be where I am. I’m so thankful that He has given me the right to become His child. I’m so thankful that I’m in a place where I’m growing in Him. I’m so thankful that even while I prepare for my big outreach trip, I have these little opportunities to shine His light on HIs creations who are still walking in darkness.

Leave a Reply

