Coincidence?

Three weeks ago, I wrote a song called I Am With You. The main line in the chorus is “come and let My presence be your home.”

When I wrote this line, it didn’t really make all that much sense to me. I kinda just put that in there because it rhymed and I figured no one who heard it would bother me about how it didn’t make sense. Really, by the time I finished the song, I wasn’t a big fan of it at all. I thought it was ok, but not really anything special. I ended up posting it on Facebook, and within the next few days I was convinced that it really was something special.

I knew it wasn’t my fault though. I knew the song wasn’t special because I had written it well. It was special because God had a part in the writing. Yes, I’m going to say it: God gave me this song. But still, I didn’t care for it all that much. I thought it was a song for other people, to bless them. I didn’t know how it applied to me at all.

The other day, I was walking with Raymond talking about life and stuff. I had come to the conclusion that in this season of life, God wants me to make Him my home. I need to find the most comfort and the most security in Him. I need to be completely relaxed in His presence and let that place be my place of refreshing.

It may already be obvious where I’m going with this, but I didn’t connect the dots until yesterday morning. And I started flipping out. I couldn’t believe it. I couldn’t believe what I had done. I couldn’t believe I hadn’t noticed it before. How did I write a song three weeks ago about a lesson God was about to start teaching me? Is this a coincidence? I think not.

Leave a Reply

