Frailty

Psalm 39:4 – Lord, make me to know my end, and what is the measure of my days, that I may know how frail I am.

Today, God reminded me how frail I am. Why would I want to know how frail I am? Why would I ever want to consider that I am faulty and fading? Why would I want to think about how short of a time I have until I die? These are not comforting thoughts. They don’t make me feel good. Naturally, I read this and I don’t want to seriously consider it’s meaning. But then I have to ask: God, why do you want me to know how frail I am?

I need to know how frail I am. I need to be fully (sometimes even painfully) aware that I am not all powerful and I am not self-sufficient by any means. I can’t live this life on my own. I can’t do good works and let my light shine before men by my own power. I can’t make things work out the way I think they should or the way I want them to. In all honesty, I can’t really do anything on my own except stumble around searching for dissatisfying temporary pleasure.

I need to know how frail I am so that I can see how good God is. When I am frail, God is strong. While I was yet a sinner, Christ died for me.

My frailty highlights the magnitude of God’s grace. God’s intent was not for me to look at this verse and wallow in my weakness. His desire is that I would use that realization as a springboard to praise Him. God’s grace is immense. It reaches to me in my pitiful state and brings me up to my justified state where I can stand boldly in the righteousness Christ purchased for me.

The beauty of this whole situation is that it puts me in my place and makes both God and I look better by the end of this progression. He is wholly great and glorious, and I am humbly justified by His work alone.

Leave a Reply

