The Measure of Our Lives

Let the glory of Your name be the passion of the Church
Let the righteousness of God be a holy flame that burns
Let the saving love of Christ be the measure of our lives
We believe You’re all to us

– All to Us by Chris Tomlin

I spent yesterday morning with the line “let the saving love of Christ be the measure of our lives”running through my head. It struck me deeply and I immediately agreed that it is a good idea. But what does it mean?

First, what is the saving love of Christ? It is the love of John 3:16. A love that would give the most precious thing it could for another. The only begotten Son of God. It’s a love that gives the most valuable thing in the universe to save a wicked sinner like me.

16 For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

I see three different options for measuring our lives. Two end poorly, and the last ends beautifully.

First, the human way. Humans, by nature, measure their lives by the comparison to other people. Our pride wells up and we say we’ve done well when we’ve done better than others. But there is always someone better than you. I can never measure up to all the other people in this world. If this is the measure of my life, I am a failure.

Second, the Old Covenant way. Under the Old Covenant, God gave us the Law in Exodus with which to measure our lives. This is the old covenant. But we also cannot live up to that standard. If I use this as the measure of my life, I am a failure.

Romans 5:20a – Moreover the law entered that the offense might abound.

But third, there is the New Covenant way. This is measuring my life by the saving love of Christ. By His love, I recieve His rigtheousness and cast off my sin. I admit my failure to fulfill the law and am made whole and pure because of His saving work on the cross. I am valuable, because I have been valued by the blood of Jesus and His love. I am successful, because the saving love of Christ is unlimited and He has said that I measure up enough to recieve it. I do not have to depend on my ability to do or say the right things to recieve value. I do not have to compare myself to others to recieve value. I am successful and valuable for one reason and one reason only: Jesus says so.

2 Corinthians 5:21 – For He made Him who knew no sin to be sin for us that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.

Ephesians 2:4-5 – But God … because of His great love with which He loved us … made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved)

What is the measure of your life?

[spotify http://open.spotify.com/track/3vAOKV1lg5je6RnuGGI0Mp]
Leave a Reply

